What is it like installing and using SoundFonts in MTS?

Discuss working with MultitrackStudio.
NystagmusE

What is it like installing and using SoundFonts in MTS?

Post by NystagmusE »

I just ordered a sample CD in the postal mail and it has some audio stored as drum kit soundfonts. There are 30 drum kits that all together store 500 sounds. This adds up to about 17 sounds per drum kit. Incidentally, the same sounds are available as plain old .WAV files just in folders. I have never used soundfonts before.

Questions:
1) What is it like installing and using soundfonts in MultitrackStudio?
2) What issues can I expect to be dealing with?
3) What are the advantages and disadvantages of using soundfonts in MTS?
Mac

Re: What is it like installing and using SoundFonts in MTS?

Post by Mac »

MrHope wrote: 1) What is it like installing and using soundfonts in MultitrackStudio?
A breeze if you use the MTS samplet and conversion that MTS supplies.

Don't use an external VSTi soundfont player for this in MTS, the MTS sampler blows it away IMO.
2) What issues can I expect to be dealing with?
None that I know of, except for a small learning curve about the controls in the MTS sampler. You can leave them at default to get started, which is a good idea.

Read the MTS manual .pdf, search for the sampler and all should be as easy as anything else is to do in MTS.
3) What are the advantages and disadvantages of using soundfonts in MTS?
Lots of available sounds, lots of 'em free for the download on the web, many GM soundfont banks for use in playing back standard midi files.

The MTS sampler is simply a gas. I can convert not only Soundfonts, but gigasamples and a few other formats and mix and match 'em in the one applet, how cool and easy is that? Well, you wouldn't know if you never had to fool around with a Soundfont player at the same time as gigastudio at the same time as a hardware sampler, but take my word for it, the MTS sampler ROCKS.