level meter

Discuss working with MultitrackStudio.
kat10

level meter

Post by kat10 »

Hi,
When recording I cannot get my level meter to move much unless I put microphone right up to my mouth. I am wondering if I need to purchase a better soundcard. I am just using the one that came with my computer, it is a soundMax Integrated Digital Audio. I can record but the volume is not the best. I am using an optimus unidirectional microphone plugged into the microphone jack on the back of computer sound card. Any advice you can give me would be greatly appreciated as I am a complete newbie.
Rat-Sass

Post by Rat-Sass »

Did you go into RECORDING and then AUDIO INPUT CONTROL ?
Check your mic level there.
If the level is turned way up, and you might be using a high-impedence microphone, click on the ADVANCED button just below the slider and then try clicking the Microphone +20dB Boost button.
Normally, that Boost should be unchecked.
kat10

Post by kat10 »

Rat-Sass wrote:Did you go into RECORDING and then AUDIO INPUT CONTROL ?
Check your mic level there.
If the level is turned way up, and you might be using a high-impedence microphone, click on the ADVANCED button just below the slider and then try clicking the Microphone +20dB Boost button.
Normally, that Boost should be unchecked.
Yes, I have already done all that and it doesn't help, I can't get my level meter up into the yellow unless I almost yell into the mike, what is weird is that I tried recording on my old 350mghz computer and it actually works better as far as getting the level meter up. Does it have anything to do with the sound card being integrated, would a seperate one be better? I can actually get better sound input with my cheap computer microphone than with this one, and it is really bugging me because I can't understand why.
Saz

Post by Saz »

Hi kat10,