Two VSTs communication over MIDI?

Discuss working with MultitrackStudio.
dea

Two VSTs communication over MIDI?

Post by dea »

Is it possible to have a VST sequencer drive a VST synth from within MultitrackStudio? Being I'm not that experienced in this area, I would imagine the output midi channel from the sequencer would go into the VST Synth's MIDI input channel. I know, I'm sure I have grotesquely simplified this.
dea

Re: Two VSTs communication over MIDI?

Post by dea »

I'm sorry. I found a forum discussion that covers this. Link is below. I'm going to read this further and try to figure it out.

http://www.multitrackstudio.com/forum/v ... ling+synth

I believe the above discussion covers is nearly identical to what I'm trying to do except I was not thinking about the recording side of it. I just want to setup a pattern in B-Step, and then playing it would drive another VST synth, or guitar instrument, etc.

Here is what I'm trying to accomplish in more detail...

I purchased B-Step 2; A software step sequencer.
I'd like to use that within MTS to control a synth.
The bullet item containing "???" is the area I'm muddy about.

My first attempt was doing the following:
* Setup a MIDI track with B-Step as the instrument.
* Setup another MIDI track with a synth as the instrument.
* B-Step always outputs commands on MIDI channel 1.
* ??? And here is where I have lost focus based on info regarding virtual midi ports, etc. Do I need to create virtual ports to get the two VSTs to talk?
* Setup synth MIDI input channel to be 1.

Long Live MultitrackStudio!!!!
Support

Post by Support »

The manual touches on this subject with two cryptic sentences: :mrgreen:

"Some plugins generate MIDI data. This MIDI output is merged with the data coming from MIDI input devices if the plugin is in a recording audio track and Soft Monitoring is enabled."

This feature is intended for playing guitar using an audio-to-MIDI plugin. You can use it for your sequencer plugin too: