MultitrackStudio User Forum

It is currently Sat Jun 23, 2018 3:57 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:16 pm
Posts: 12
Hey board! Long-time MTS user but my PC just died and I want to try to use my older ThinkPad T-410 before buying a new PC or Laptop.

My old singer/songwriter hobbiest set up:

SM 57 and 58 Dynamic mics > M-Audio DMP3 pre amp > M-audio Audiophile 2496 sound card > MTS

The DMP3 has two 1/4" TRS Balanced line "outs" and I used a 1/4" to RCA adapter to the sound card.


I'm thinking about trying one of the following but I've never used a laptop to record before:

Mics > DMP3 > Behringer 1/4" to USB out adapter cable > laptop

Here's the cable:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audi ... ductDetail


Second possibility:

Mics > DMP3 > Behringer U-Phono UFO 202 Interface > Lap top.
This has RCA "ins" so I think I can use the same 1/4" to RCA cable from the DMP3. The Interface would be set to line "input" not phono.

Here's the U-Phono:

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail ... ice-engine

One other question...does a laptop need a sound card upgrade like I had with my PC? Maybe an external one???

If none of this works I'll probably go to a new laptop or PC and interface but cheaper fixes like the above will be better if they work!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2017 7:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:01 pm
Posts: 524
Location: Germany
The usb cable can only do 32 bit (LINE 2 USB works with virtually all popular 32-bit compatible recording software.) If that's no problem then it's worth a try.
Take a look at the Behringer U-Control UCA222, it's a tad cheaper and has a S/PDIF output.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2017 10:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:16 pm
Posts: 12
Thanks Sinbad...I like it! It comes with free software so I might steal a few plugins from it to use with MTS.

I'm also looking to add drums. Do you make your own loops or use something else?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2017 12:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:01 pm
Posts: 524
Location: Germany
I use jamstix and anything I get free off the net :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group