Buffer Overload

Discuss working with MultitrackStudio.
Post Reply
NHGH232323
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 11:25 am

Buffer Overload

Post by NHGH232323 » Thu Nov 09, 2017 11:36 am

Hi, I've been using Multitrack Studio Pro for a couple of years now, every so often when I'm recording (with a live band using 4 - 6 tracks) I get these "Buffer Overload" messages, it used to happen very rarely but it's getting more and more frequent. There seems to be no pattern to it, sometimes I'll go 3 or 4 sessions with none of these buffer overloads then it will consistently happen multiple times in one session for no apparent reason. I don't have any other programs open and the only effects I have on are a bit of reverb on the guitar and the drum overhead. I'm using Windows 7 on a HP probook.

Any idea what I can do to prevent this occurring? I make primarily improvised music and it's really getting on my nerves that the momentum gets killed because of these continual interruptions when the transport stops.

I'm pretty terrible with computers so let me know if you need more information to answer my question adequately.

Thanks
Aaron

sinbad
Posts: 568
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Buffer Overload

Post by sinbad » Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:56 am

I get that too, especially when I restart a previously stopped track while the transport is moving. My cpu usage is at about 15% at the time so it isn't cpu overload. Could it be that MTS is a tad too sensitive with this?

Support
Posts: 1260
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Buffer Overload

Post by Support » Fri Nov 10, 2017 9:23 am

Please let me know what the message says exactly next time it happens. There's no 'buffer overload' message in MTS, but it does have a couple of messages related to buffers.


Giel Bremmers

sinbad
Posts: 568
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Buffer Overload

Post by sinbad » Sun Nov 12, 2017 3:24 pm

When you want to show someone something it never happens :? I have been trying to cause a buffer overrun but it wn't have it. What have you done Giel :lol:

Support
Posts: 1260
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Buffer Overload

Post by Support » Sun Nov 12, 2017 7:03 pm

Usually me saying "See, there is no problem!" is enough to make all sorts of things go wrong immediately :mrgreen:


Giel Bremmers

NHGH232323
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 11:25 am

Re: Buffer Overload

Post by NHGH232323 » Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:22 am

Yeah sorry I meant Buffer Overrun, from what I remember it usually says something along the lines of "Buffer Overrun, using too much processing power. Hints: Turn off effects, close down background programs" something like that. I'm going to do some recording later tonight so I'll see if it happens and take a screenshot.

Thanks for the responses!

Aaron

Support
Posts: 1260
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Buffer Overload

Post by Support » Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:35 pm

That has to do with audio recording. Is the computer connected to the internet while you're recording (via WIFI perhaps)? You could try disabling that temporarily in order to keep Windows from downloading updates etc.
Any chance a virus scanner or something like that is kicking in? You could try looking at the Windows Task Manager when the problem occurs, maybe you can see what the computer is doing.

If it happens, please save a screenshot and also save a report to the desktop (see http://www.multitrackstudio.com/contact.php). You can send them to support@multitrackstudio.com later.


Giel Bremmers

Post Reply