Help getting started please!

Discuss working with MultitrackStudio.
JoeyC

Help getting started please!

Post by JoeyC »

I’m a total newbie so please bear with me. Using a PC with a Focusrite interface. I had Ableton but realized it is more for DJs and not live recording. Installed Multitrackstudio free version. I can’t get a signal from the Focusrite so I can record. I know it’s something simple...

Using a keyboard into the Focusrite into PC via USB.

THANK YOU!
moxol

Re: Help getting started please!

Post by moxol »

Click Studio->Devices->Select devices then choose Audio In and MIDI in Device.
JoeyC

Post by JoeyC »

Yes. And I have my Focusrite set up w USB IN. I select it as my audio source and I can hear my keyboard on the phones (plugged into Focusrite interface) but no signal is going into PC. I have closed Abelton and restarted my computer. Nothing..,
Support

Post by Support »

Are you trying to record the keyboard as MIDI or as audio?

Giel Bremmers
JoeyC

Post by JoeyC »

Audio-thru the interface. Multitrack doesn’t get a signal from interface.
Support

Post by Support »

Perhaps you're not recording the channel(s) you've connected the keyboard to?
In MultitrackStudio you can click the small arrow next to the track's Rec button to pick an input channel.

Giel Bremmers
K-N-M

Post by K-N-M »

Which model Focusrite are you using?

Which input(s) on it are you using?

I use a Focusrite Scarlett 8i6 every day and it works well. In the past I've also used a 2i2, 2i4, Saffire 6 and an iTrack Solo.

My 8i6 came with a lite version of Ableton, but I didn't like that DAW at all, although many use it with great results (mind you I had already used MultitrackStudio for years). MultitrackStudio is much easier to record audio / MIDI in (my opinion), yet still very powerful.
moxol

Post by moxol »

K-N-M wrote:Which model Focusrite are you using?