MultitrackStudio User Forum

It is currently Sun Jul 21, 2019 3:54 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Is there a way to ..
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 7:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 2:23 am
Posts: 483
Location: Oceanside Cal
spilt apart a midi drum track so that each drum part is on a separate track?
I want to be able to process and adjust each instrument separately?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Is there a way to ..
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 11:44 am
Posts: 471
Location: WV, USA
Robomusic wrote:
spilt apart a midi drum track so that each drum part is on a separate track?
I want to be able to process and adjust each instrument separately?

Yep - this feature was added in the past year I believe.

Split Streams: (multiple stream MIDI track only). Splits the MIDI file in separate single-stream files, these new files will be loaded in new tracks.

You can access it from the File Options Menu.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 1:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 2:23 am
Posts: 483
Location: Oceanside Cal
yeah i know how to breakdown the full midi file, but what i want to do is to breakdown the actual drum track


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 1:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 11:44 am
Posts: 471
Location: WV, USA
hmmm - IIRC, I imported a midi drum track and applied this feature and got separate tracks for bass, snare, toms, etc. I could be mistaken.

Beyond that I don't have a clue - sorry. :?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 7:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 3:19 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Newbury. UK
I can imagine you could extract the drums from a multi track midi file using "split stream".. However I just tried to extract the snare part from one of my (sampler) midi drum tracks and you don't get the "split streams" option because it is only a single stream.

You can create a "new stream" and cut/paste the individual drum part into it - but I don't think this is what you want to do.. I imagine that (like me) you might like to add reverb to snare without adding it to the whole drum kit - for example.

Right now I don't see a way of doing that except you cut/paste sections of the drums into different midi tracks and apply effect track by track. Not the most elegant method, maybe there is a better way, but I don't see it at present.

However, if the drums were miked, then you would have a track per drum, so maybe its not so inelegant after all...

:)

Pete H


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 7:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 2:23 am
Posts: 483
Location: Oceanside Cal
Okay I figured it out, open the drum track, and select the drum screen, the highlight only one drum hit, like say a snare hit and then drag side ways in that line, then click on select all, that will select all the snare hits then copy and paste to a separate midi track, repeat for each drum sound and then you have separate drum tracks to process


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 7:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 3:19 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Newbury. UK
Yes, exactly: You've got it :)

Now try sending that track to its own effects return, put in EQ, Reverb and Noise Gate to get that tacky gated reverb sound on snare...

PH


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 3:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 2:35 am
Posts: 248
Location: Annapolis MD. USA
After searching 17 pages of posts this is all I could find. I can't get it to work. it is 2005 post.
Is there a way to select just the snare notes or Bass drum notes or any individual drum instruments notes?
Robomusic wrote:
Okay I figured it out, open the drum track, and select the drum screen, the highlight only one drum hit, like say a snare hit and then drag side ways in that line, then click on select all, that will select all the snare hits then copy and paste to a separate midi track, repeat for each drum sound and then you have separate drum tracks to process


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Is there a way to ..
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 8:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 2:17 pm
Posts: 1241
In 'select notes' mode you can click the first bass drum note. Then click the last bass drum note while pressing the Shift key. This is new in version 9.

In 'select part' mode you can click a note name (on the left) and then click Select All. Doing this in reverse order works too. Clicking the note names toggles between 'select this instrument' and 'select all instruments'.


Giel Bremmers


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Is there a way to ..
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 2:35 am
Posts: 248
Location: Annapolis MD. USA
Beautiful Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group