Question about midi channels

Discuss working with MultitrackStudio for iPad
Post Reply
dinoroo
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 7:49 pm

Question about midi channels

Post by dinoroo » Sat Sep 13, 2014 2:07 pm

Is it possible to select a midi channel to record from in MTS? Does it listen to and record from all channels at once? If so, I think this is a huge oversight. I have many apps that can output midi on multiple channels at once and it should be possible for a DAW to record multiple midi channels into separate midi tracks. This doesn't seem possible in MTS ipad. Thanks.

Support
Posts: 1484
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Question about midi channels

Post by Support » Sat Sep 13, 2014 3:09 pm

Each instrument (like the SoundFont Player for example) has a channel box in the top right corner. If you record multiple MIDI tracks simultaneously it will record that channel only.

If you record just a single MIDI track all MIDI channels will be recorded. If that's not what you want you can tap the 'Rec' label (at the top) and switch off 'autodetect keyboard'.

The only caveat is that you can't access the channel box if an IAA instrument is loaded. You can work around this by loading the MultitrackStudio Instruments instead, use the channel box, and then load the IAA instrument again.


Giel Bremmers

dinoroo
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 7:49 pm

Re: Question about midi channels

Post by dinoroo » Sat Sep 13, 2014 6:30 pm

I see. You mean the button that defaults to 'MSTi'? I was under the impression that was an output/effects loop dialog and not relevant to the input. I'll give that a try, thanks.

Support
Posts: 1484
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Question about midi channels

Post by Support » Mon Sep 15, 2014 11:30 am

dinoroo wrote:You mean the button that defaults to 'MSTi'?
Yep. It's called the 'instrument slot'.


Giel Bremmers

dinoroo
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 7:49 pm

Re: Question about midi channels

Post by dinoroo » Wed Sep 17, 2014 2:06 pm

OK, works great now, thanks.

Incidentally, for midi recording and playback to/from other apps/synths, MTS is not showing up as an available app to receive midi from or send midi to. Tried it in several synths and apps; Genome, Thumbjam, Xynthesizr, Alchemy, Galileo, etc. The MST midi clock is showing up in those apps however.

I've also had trouble trying to output midi to multiple synths at once. For instance, midi channel 1 playing in Alchemy, while midi channel 2 plays in Galileo, etc. I've tried many different midi configurations and setups. The closest I got to outputting to two synths at once was when I set up Thumbjam as an IAA instrument, and then used the midi output connection for another synth. But if I try to set up Galileo as an IAA instrument, it use Galileo as an effect and not as a synth. I'd imagine that situation would be similar for any app that can use IAA as an effect, which aren't too numerous at this time.

Support
Posts: 1484
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Question about midi channels

Post by Support » Wed Sep 17, 2014 8:19 pm

dinoroo wrote:Incidentally, for midi recording and playback to/from other apps/synths, MTS is not showing up as an available app to receive midi from or send midi to. Tried it in several synths and apps; Genome, Thumbjam, Xynthesizr, Alchemy, Galileo, etc. The MST midi clock is showing up in those apps however.
Good point! I'll look into this.
dinoroo wrote:But if I try to set up Galileo as an IAA instrument, it use Galileo as an effect and not as a synth.
What makes you think it's an effect?
Galileo, loaded in an instrument slot, works fine while it's recording. You can use the MTS keyboard for example, and you'll hear the organ.
But Galileo doesn't work if it's playing back unfortunately. Looks the Galileo's IAA implementation isn't fully decoupled from the iOS audio system. MultitrackStudio expects that for playback and online mixdown.


Giel Bremmers

dinoroo
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 7:49 pm

Re: Question about midi channels

Post by dinoroo » Thu Sep 18, 2014 12:54 am

Support wrote:
dinoroo wrote:Incidentally, for midi recording and playback to/from other apps/synths, MTS is not showing up as an available app to receive midi from or send midi to. Tried it in several synths and apps; Genome, Thumbjam, Xynthesizr, Alchemy, Galileo, etc. The MST midi clock is showing up in those apps however.
Good point! I'll look into this.
dinoroo wrote:But if I try to set up Galileo as an IAA instrument, it use Galileo as an effect and not as a synth.
What makes you think it's an effect?
Galileo, loaded in an instrument slot, works fine while it's recording. You can use the MTS keyboard for example, and you'll hear the organ.
But Galileo doesn't work if it's playing back unfortunately. Looks the Galileo's IAA implementation isn't fully decoupled from the iOS audio system. MultitrackStudio expects that for playback and online mixdown.


Giel Bremmers
Thanks. I just thought it might be an effect cause it sometimes made strange noises when I paused in the right spot. Strangely the organ can also be heard when you scrub over the notes.

Post Reply