MultitrackStudio User Forum

It is currently Mon Jul 22, 2019 5:05 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: AUv3 midi
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 2:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 1:51 pm
Posts: 27
Hi,

Thanks for the recent update :)

I'm liking what is possible with AU midi in MTS. Especially that you can "apply" the midi effect to the timeline. This is really useful!

This works for some effects not others eg Riffer from Audiomodern is working, so is Rozeta bassline, but have found some others to not work as expected, eg Step poly arp unit. Also Rozeta Rhythm causes MTS to freeze when you "apply" to the track.

I didn't expect it to work in every situation but would be cool if it worked more with those two apps, will try some others.

I don't think it's possible to record AU midi "live" to the timeline yet? I tried but couldn't see how.

I'm sure you have a long list of things to do, but would love to see:

1. more AU midi slots. I'm using quite a lot in other hosts sometimes 5 at once (I'm on ipad pro 12.9 2017).
2. full size AU screen view, scalable. I have a lot of AU apps now which are mainly usable in full screen view only, so being able to scale the AU screen is preferable as they can be quite small. Also being able to have more than one on screen at once is great for workflow :)
3. Record AU midi to timeline. Would also love to see some kind of midi matrix view to route midi output from one track to another, which I don't think is possible yet...

many thanks for the continual work :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AUv3 midi
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2018 3:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 2:17 pm
Posts: 1242
carnbot wrote:
but have found some others to not work as expected, eg Step poly arp unit.

What happens?

carnbot wrote:
Also Rozeta Rhythm causes MTS to freeze when you "apply" to the track.

Rozeta Rhythm crashes. Oddly, I can only make this happen by feeding it the events it generated itself (ie. by doing 'apply to track' twice).

carnbot wrote:
I didn't expect it to work in every situation

I do, actually ;-)

carnbot wrote:
I don't think it's possible to record AU midi "live" to the timeline yet?

No. What would you like to to with that? IMO it would only be useful for 'keyboard' type apps, ie. apps that generate MIDI without receiving MIDI themselves.


Giel Bremmers


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AUv3 midi
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2018 6:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 1:51 pm
Posts: 27
Quote:
What happens?


I wasn't sure how this would work anyway as it's a sequencer with different chained patterns, as well as an arppegiator. It produced a series of notes on the timeline but all bunched up and not recognisable to the patterns. it would be great if you could "print" the current pattern to the timeline though.

Quote:
No. What would you like to to with that? IMO it would only be useful for 'keyboard' type apps, ie. apps that generate MIDI without receiving MIDI themselves.

I'd use it to record performances using the midi FX, so some midi fx sequencers can have different patterns triggered at different times or generative midi FX can output different midi each time you use it so to be able to record a live performance of all the midi output would be ideal for editing.
If you could route all the output midi from the track including midi fx to another track input for recording, this would be all you'd need, rather than recording to the same midi track :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AUv3 midi
PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 1:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 4:15 am
Posts: 23
On this topic, does anyone know if Geoshred works in MTS?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AUv3 midi
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2019 12:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:06 pm
Posts: 20
qaratechop wrote:
On this topic, does anyone know if Geoshred works in MTS?


Looks like a, no.

I’m trying and can’t make it happen.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AUv3 midi
PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 7:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 2:17 pm
Posts: 1242
carnbot wrote:
but have found some others to not work as expected, eg Step poly arp unit. Also Rozeta Rhythm causes MTS to freeze when you "apply" to the track.

Version 3.3 fixes both.


Giel Bremmers


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group