MultitrackStudio User Forum
https://www.multitrackstudio.com/forum/

AUv3 midi
https://www.multitrackstudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2635
Page 1 of 1

Author:  carnbot [ Tue Dec 11, 2018 2:10 pm ]
Post subject:  AUv3 midi

Hi,

Thanks for the recent update :)

I'm liking what is possible with AU midi in MTS. Especially that you can "apply" the midi effect to the timeline. This is really useful!

This works for some effects not others eg Riffer from Audiomodern is working, so is Rozeta bassline, but have found some others to not work as expected, eg Step poly arp unit. Also Rozeta Rhythm causes MTS to freeze when you "apply" to the track.

I didn't expect it to work in every situation but would be cool if it worked more with those two apps, will try some others.

I don't think it's possible to record AU midi "live" to the timeline yet? I tried but couldn't see how.

I'm sure you have a long list of things to do, but would love to see:

1. more AU midi slots. I'm using quite a lot in other hosts sometimes 5 at once (I'm on ipad pro 12.9 2017).
2. full size AU screen view, scalable. I have a lot of AU apps now which are mainly usable in full screen view only, so being able to scale the AU screen is preferable as they can be quite small. Also being able to have more than one on screen at once is great for workflow :)
3. Record AU midi to timeline. Would also love to see some kind of midi matrix view to route midi output from one track to another, which I don't think is possible yet...

many thanks for the continual work :)

Author:  Support [ Wed Dec 12, 2018 3:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: AUv3 midi

carnbot wrote:
but have found some others to not work as expected, eg Step poly arp unit.

What happens?

carnbot wrote:
Also Rozeta Rhythm causes MTS to freeze when you "apply" to the track.

Rozeta Rhythm crashes. Oddly, I can only make this happen by feeding it the events it generated itself (ie. by doing 'apply to track' twice).

carnbot wrote:
I didn't expect it to work in every situation

I do, actually ;-)

carnbot wrote:
I don't think it's possible to record AU midi "live" to the timeline yet?

No. What would you like to to with that? IMO it would only be useful for 'keyboard' type apps, ie. apps that generate MIDI without receiving MIDI themselves.


Giel Bremmers

Author:  carnbot [ Wed Dec 12, 2018 6:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: AUv3 midi

Quote:
What happens?


I wasn't sure how this would work anyway as it's a sequencer with different chained patterns, as well as an arppegiator. It produced a series of notes on the timeline but all bunched up and not recognisable to the patterns. it would be great if you could "print" the current pattern to the timeline though.

Quote:
No. What would you like to to with that? IMO it would only be useful for 'keyboard' type apps, ie. apps that generate MIDI without receiving MIDI themselves.

I'd use it to record performances using the midi FX, so some midi fx sequencers can have different patterns triggered at different times or generative midi FX can output different midi each time you use it so to be able to record a live performance of all the midi output would be ideal for editing.
If you could route all the output midi from the track including midi fx to another track input for recording, this would be all you'd need, rather than recording to the same midi track :)

Author:  qaratechop [ Fri Dec 21, 2018 1:11 am ]
Post subject:  Re: AUv3 midi

On this topic, does anyone know if Geoshred works in MTS?

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/