Hi, I'm new to MIDI and everything and have a few q's

Discuss working with MultitrackStudio.
Ackers

Hi, I'm new to MIDI and everything and have a few q's

Post by Ackers »

Hi,

Here's my status: I have a Yamaha PSR-295 keyboard and recently bought a USB cable to hook it up to my computer. Main reason being was to put my recorded music from my keyboard onto my computer in MIDI format.

After doing a little searching on the internet I found several MIDI software including this one.

OK, my problem is: the music recorded on my keyboard is basically all guitar stuff. I've tweaked the guitar voices and dualed them with other guitar voices, messed with the reverb and everything to get a realistic sounding guitar voice. But when I hook up my keyboard and computer, the same tweaked guitar voice I have saved on my keyboard, sounds crappy on computer.

Is this because of my soundcard or something?

Also, why is it some voices don't match the ones I'm playing? For instance I select Voice001 GrandPno on my keyboard yet with MTS the voice come outs differently (it plays a stringed instrument or something). However when I select Voice444 Helicptr for instance, it sounds just as it does on keyboard, the sound of a helicopter.

Another question, why doesn't MTS allow me to use Yamaha AC-XG WDM XG Synth (my soundcard driver) as my MIDI Out device? Another MIDI software I have allows it but MTS doesn't. Instead, I have to use Yamaha XG WDM SoftSynthesizer which when used as my MIDI Out device is pants. This is because the sounds are delayed when I play on my keyboard yet with the other MIDI Out device it's right on time. Also, the settings don't seem to sound correct using this device e.g Sustain.

I'm really new to all this MIDI stuff. Good luck trying to help me!

Regards,
Ackers
NystagmusE

Post by NystagmusE »

I have the feeling that your technical issues are more complex. You should email support@MultiTrackStudio.com for a more complete answer.
Mac

Post by Mac »